Login Register
RSS Feed  Print 
Question for the CS moderator.
gardengal
Posted: Thursday, September 10, 2009 9:44 PM
User Rank: Guiding Member
Joined: 11/22/2008
Posts: 2096


I was wondering, I'm not to tech saavy, but I know people aren't supposed to push their businesses here. There was a post on the general board, seemed kinda funny to me, they were really stressing this one particular site. There were around seven posts. I replied and asked them if this was a ploy to get people on this forum to go to the site. They have never posted here before. When I went back to check all the posts had been deleted, did they do it, or did you all do it? I'm all for it, if you did because I don't like when people come here and do that. This is a forum for us to share on, but I don't like when people aren't honest about their intentions. I guess I 'm not sure when you all are monitering things here, but if they did it, how could my post have been deleted?

Thanks so much.


cseditor
Posted: Friday, September 11, 2009 1:29 PM
User Rank: Enthusiastic Member
Joined: 7/10/2008
Posts: 67


Hello.

  Thanks for letting us know about the message.  Could you please give more details about where that was posted?  I don't think we removed the post, as we weren't aware of it, but we'll look into it if they are indeed promoting their business.  Unfortunately, we no longer have a full-time web moderator/webmaster, so we haven't been as prompt as we would like to be in looking through the forums every day. We'll certainly do the best we can, but if anyone does notice something that seems out of place, please do let us know and provide a link to or description of the message and area where it's posted.

 

Donna Marcel

Editor


gardengal
Posted: Friday, September 11, 2009 2:07 PM
User Rank: Guiding Member
Joined: 11/22/2008
Posts: 2096


Donna,

Hi, thanks for getting back to me. It's under the general decorating titled "great reproductions". This Lizanne had several posts yesterday really promoting this site, and there was an "anonomys" person, it was like you could tell that they knew each other and they were just talking up how great this furniture is and the prices are so great. It was a ploy to sell their wares.

Then I posted a reply, basically calling them out on it, and suddenly all the posts were deleted, and she had modified it. Today it's her again and a new "guy named dan". Not OUR beloved Dan.

I just don't like when people come on here and pull this stuff. This is a forum for us to all share on, I feel if they want to promote their wares then take an ad out with your magazine, don't try to use the forum for free advertising.

I don't like to make problems, but it's irritating to me when these people do this.

One of the other forum members also saw this and she thought the same thing I did~just so you know, it's not just me.

Thank you for providing a place for us "regular addicts" to share and drool over your lovely magazine. It's my favorite! I wish you all could put a new one out every month!LOL!

 


jbean
Posted: Saturday, September 12, 2009 8:05 AM
User Rank: Guiding Member
Joined: 7/10/2008
Posts: 1161


 Donna, now they are posting under the General Decorating section under "Pine Hill Primitives"

directly instead of under their personal names.  Nothing like being direct!!

Could you do something about their posts?


Jill from NY

http://s182.photobucket.com/albums/x62/jbean186/


ShirleeH
Posted: Saturday, September 12, 2009 10:16 AM
User Rank: Advanced Member
Joined: 4/13/2009
Posts: 870


I agree with gardengal & jbean.  It's obvious they are all in this together or that they are all the same person! 

 

Blessings,

Shirlee

 


buckeyesue
Posted: Monday, September 14, 2009 7:05 AM
User Rank: Established Member
Joined: 7/10/2008
Posts: 252


 

When I click on the name "lizanne" which still shows up in one of the pages as the last comment on one of the posts (but the post itself has apparently been deleted), it brings me to the profile of the new poster, "Piney."

(Lizanne apparently made the comment on  Sunday, September 13, 2009 8:11 PM but it has been deleted.)

Are "Piney" and "lizanne" one and the same poster?


gardengal
Posted: Monday, September 14, 2009 7:30 AM
User Rank: Guiding Member
Joined: 11/22/2008
Posts: 2096


That's what I'm betting. I can tell by the way the posting is~ I don't know, it's getting old though.


ShirleeH
Posted: Monday, September 14, 2009 8:12 AM
User Rank: Advanced Member
Joined: 4/13/2009
Posts: 870


This is getting ridiculous.  I too noticed that lizanne has somehow managed to change her profile to

Piney & is now trying to pass herself off as someone new to the forum.  She posted under this new

profile name in the General Decorating section, "Hi Everyone I'm Piney."  She says she's new here &

wonders if this is the way to primitive heaven.  Good grief ... how stupid does she think we all are???

 

Blessings,

Shirlee

 


cseditor
Posted: Monday, September 14, 2009 9:22 AM
User Rank: Enthusiastic Member
Joined: 7/10/2008
Posts: 67


Hello Everyone:

   Could one of you please provide me with the direct links to the offending posts?  It would speed up the process of us looking into this matter and potentially blocking this person if it continues to be a problem.  You can e-mail me directly at dmarcel@sampler.emmis.com.  We don't monitor every post because, as I mentioned in an earlier message, we no longer have a full-time webmaster, so anytime you find something in the forums that looks suspicious, offensive, etc., please feel free to let me know.  Providing a direct link to the posting will get the ball rolling more quickly on removing or contacting the poster.  Thanks much!

Donna


buckeyesue
Posted: Monday, September 14, 2009 9:32 AM
User Rank: Established Member
Joined: 7/10/2008
Posts: 252


Hello Donna,

 

Here is a link to one of the suspicious posts:

 

http://www.countrysamplermagazine.com/forums.aspx?g=posts&t=19170 

 

I have tried using the "Report Post" button, but either I don't know how to use it properly or it is not working.  Have you at CS gotten any messages that I have reported a post?

 

I will also e-mail you this link directly.

 

Thanks.


ShirleeH
Posted: Monday, September 14, 2009 9:37 AM
User Rank: Advanced Member
Joined: 4/13/2009
Posts: 870


I have emailed you as well Donna.

 

Blessings,

Shirlee

 


jbean
Posted: Monday, September 14, 2009 11:37 AM
User Rank: Guiding Member
Joined: 7/10/2008
Posts: 1161


 Oh I feel stupid because I responded to the "Piney" post!!  oh well....

I see that has been deleted also....thank you Moderator!!!

 


Jill from NY

http://s182.photobucket.com/albums/x62/jbean186/